Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Call for Nominations - Touro Law Center's Annual Alumni Awards Program

Touro Law Center and the Alumni Association of Touro Law Center invite you to nominate outstanding individuals for the 2014 Annual Alumni Awards Program.  The awards will be presented during the Annual Winter Alumni Reception in New York City on Thursday, January 30, 2014.
The awards honor Touro Law Center graduates who have made significant contributions to the profession and to the school.  Award categories and criteria are listed below.  If you are interested in nominating an alum, please click here to download a nomination form.  Questions?  Call (631) 761-7063 or email alumni@tourolaw.edu.  Nomination deadline is November 4, 2013.  Don't delay - send in your nominations today!

  • Exceptional Law School Service Award- presented to a successful Touro Law graduate who has significantly contributed to the growth of the Law Center through demonstrated support in new program development, leadership and advancement initiatives, assistance in the area of career services, and dedication to the ideals and purposes of the Law Center.

  • Emerging Leader Award - presented to a recent graduate who has made exceptional strides in his/her profession and additionally found time to aid the Touro Law Center Community in a variety of ways. The successful candidate serves as a role model for graduating students and has achieved an exceptional level of service to the Law Center. The nominee must have graduated within the past eight years.

  • Public Service Award - presented to a graduate who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the area of public interest law either through his or her full-time position or through significant pro bono initiatives.  

  • The Keith Romaine Elected Official of the Year Award -Touro Law Center 2003 graduate Keith Romaine passed away suddenly in 2009. In his memory and in recognition of his interest and passion for government, the Law Center created an award in his name to be presented annually to a graduate who serves the public as an elected official.

  • Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award - presented to a graduate who has provided inspiring dedication and service to Touro Law Center through his/her volunteer support, which can include attending accepted student receptions and orientation receptions, serving as a mentor or a judge for student competitions.

    Join us for the Touro Law Annual Winter Alumni Reception in New York City  
    Thursday, January 30, 2014
    6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
    Location to be announced 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Reunion 2013

Reunion 2013, celebrating the classes of 1983, 1988, 1993, 1998, 2003 and 2008 was held on Saturday, October 12th at the Cradle of Aviation Museum.  Thank you to all of our alumni, faculty and friends who joined us for the evening and a special thank you to our committee members:  Anthony Ballato '88; Lisa Brantman '93; John Cooney '08; Suzanne Darrow Kleinhaus '98; Yelena Davydan '08; Dteven Denkberg '83; Jill Dworkis Gold '93; Therese Ebarb '93; Alison Leigh Epilone '08; Mary Faldich '88; Megan Glaser '08; Daniel Gomez Sanches '08; Pamela Greene '98; Nancy Hark '03; Jennifer Held '03; Hon. Jennifer Henry '93; Todd Jones '08; Fred Kantrow '03; Raymond Keenan '98; Ronnie Lamm '03; Helen Lefkowitz '88; Dina Mastellone '98; Hope Mitchell '03; Nooshin Namazi '93; April Petersen '98; John Raftery '83; Cindy Raskin Rocco '08; Brad Rosken '93; Caroly Ryder '08; mary Samenga '98; Philip Sanches '98; Thomas Santucci '83; Samantha Segal '03; Susan-Jo Simon '83; Kim Smith '03; Harold Somer '83; Nzengha Waseme '03; Patricia Wright '08; John Zaher '98; Evan Zuckerman '03.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Susan M. Dietrich Clyne '88 Memorial Golf Outing

Touro Law Center was pleased to honor alumnus Joseph B. Rosenberg, Esq.  '87 at this year's Susan M. Dietrich Clyne '88 Memorial Golf Outing.  The outing was held at Fresh Meadow Country Club on Monday, September 30th.  Thank you to all of our committee members, alumni, donors and friends to attended and support the event, helping to raise $100,000 to benefit the Touro Law Annual Fund.

Dan Baker, Esq.  ’92   Sahn Ward & Baker PLLC
John Bishar, Esq. Arbor Commercial Mortgage
Wayne Brody, Esq.  LRN
Ilene Barshay ’87  Touro Law Center (retired)
Stanley Barshay  Shering-Plough Corporation (retired)
Mitchell Cooper, Esq.  Spizz & Cooper
Jaclyn Curtin  Touro Law Center
Frederick Johs, Esq.  Lewis Johs Avallone & Aviles, LLP
Prof. Lynne Kramer  Touro Law Center
Seymour Liebman, Esq.  ’89  Canon, USA, Inc.
Ken Litman, Esq.  ’95  Litman & Litman P.C.
Douglas Manditch  Empire National Bank
Patricia  Marcin, Esq. ’85  Farrell Fritz, PC
Peter Mastaglio, Esq.  Cullen & Dykman LLP
Kristin Matthews  Touro Law Center
Fran Nagin
Jack O'Connor  Newmark Knight Frank
Michael Pfaff  Long Island Ducks
Thomas Santucci, Esq.  ’83  Gateway Investments LLC
Howard Stein, Esq.  Certilman Balin Adler & Hyman LLP
John Tsunis, Esq.  Gold Coast Bank
Linda Howard Weissman  Touro Law Center
Jeffrey Wurst, Esq.  ’87  Ruskin Moscou Faltischek, P.C.

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Touro Law Center October Alum of the Month

Congratulations to Lori Semlies, partner with the firm of Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker, LLP, Touro Law Center's Alum of the Month for October 2013.  Lori focuses her practice on the defense of medical and nursing home malpractice claims in both state and federal courts.  She was on Moot Court while attending Touro Law and remains an active member of the Touro Law Center Community through the Alumni-Student Mentor Program and special event committees.  Please click here to view her accomplished bio.